exhibition(English)The Museum of Modern AOMORI Literature


These are the Aomori authors that inspired a generation and Japanese literature following the Meiji period. In addition to books and magazines, we have a selection of manuscripts, notes, diaries, personal items on display.

the Aomori authors

name photo the years of birth and death introduction
Koroku Sato Koroku Sato 1874~1949 Haiku poet, novelist, and playwright. Gained a following for his young adult novel called Aa gyokuhai ni hana ukete [Receiving Blossoms in the Sake Cup].
Ujaku Akita Ujaku Akita 1883~1962 Worked on a wide scope of projects as a poet, novelist, and screenwriter. Known best for his collection of children`s short stories such as Taiyou to hanazono [The Sun and the Flower Garden] among other works.
Zenzo Kasai Zenzo Kasai 1887~1928 Stood out in Taisho era literary circles for his works in the I-novel genre such as Kanashiki chichi [Mourning Father] and Ko wo tsurete [With Children in Tow].
Kojiro Fukushi Kojiro Fukushi 1889~1946 Pioneered free verse with his anthology of short poems titled Taiyou no ko [Sun Child]. He was dedicated to localism work and the study of classical literature.
Yojiro Ishizaka Yojiro Ishizaka 1900~1986 Insipred the generation following World War II with works such as Aoi sanmyaku [Blue Mountain Range] among other works. He was known as "the author of a million people."
Komatu Kitamura Komatu Kitamura 1901~1964 Writer of the first Japanese "talkie" (early film with a soundtrack) Madamu to nyobo [The Neighbor`s Wife and Mine], Kitamura wrote many movie scripts, screenplays, and novels.
Yao Kitabatake Yao Kitabatake 1903~1982 Won the Noma Children`s Literature Prize with her work, Oni wo kau goro. She produced breathtaking works in the midst of sickness and scandal.
Kyozo Takagi Kyozo Takagi 1903~1987 Created a unique world in his anthology of poems titled Marumero. He also wrote novels, essays, and screenplays.
Osamu Dazai Osamu Dazai 1909~1948 In the midst of unrest and anguish, Dazai wrote literary gems such as Hashire Merosu [Run, Melos!], Tsugaru, and Ningen shikkaku [No Longer Human].
Kan`ichi Kon Kan`ichi Kon 1909~1983 Won the Naoki Literary Prize for his compilation of short stories titled Kabe no hana [Wallflower]. Full of poetic sentiment along with intellectual prose, Kon`s writing style brings readers back to an older era.
Tetsuo Miura Tetsuo Miura 1931~2010 Won the Akutagawa Literary Prize for Shinobugawa [Shame in the Blood]. While his works internalize the darkness within, they express a fresh and bright lyricism.
Hideo Osabe Hideo Osabe 1934~2018 Won the Naoki Literary Prize for Tsugaru yosarebushi and Tsugaru jonnkarabushi. His goal is to create a large compilation of Tsugaru literature.
Shuji Terayama Shuji Terayama 1935~1983 Still a promiment figure in the avant-garde genre, Terayama was successful in many media forms such as haiku, tanka, film and plays.

Transportation Guide

The Museum of Modern Aomori Literature is located on the second (2nd) floor of the Aomori Prefectural Library.

Transportation Guide

Getting to the Museum

City Bus: 20 minutes from Aomori Station
Walking: Five minute walk from the Farmers Association Building
One minute walk from the Prefectural Culture and Education Center

Taxi: 20 minutes from Aomori Station

The Museum of Modern AOMORI Literature

About us

The Museum of Modern Aomori Literature
Aomori Prefectural Library, 2nd Floor 119-7 Fujito, Arakawa Aomori-shi, Aomori-ken 030-0184

Tel. 017-739-2575 Fax. 017-739-8353


9 a.m. - 5 p.m. daily
Closed every fourth Thursday of the month and December 29 - January 3